Friday I’m In Love

starry_heartSo, I loves me some Warcraft. I love Warcraft with the heat of a thousand suns. I really, really love it. But! There are things that are not Warcaft that I also really, really love. In an effort to provide a little more of that work/life balance that I jabber on about all the time, and to share some of the things that someone (like me) who loves WoW a whole heap also loves with some of you folks that love WoW loads ‘n loads, too. Here is the first installment in my (hopefully!) weekly series – Friday I’m In Love. Subtitled: Set Your Phasers to “Squee”.

Folks, I love (rebooted) Battlestar Galactica. I don’t think it’s possible to accurately describe how much I love this TV show. (Not loved. Yes, I know it’s over but MY LOVE WILL NOT DIE.) I used to want to be an astronaut very, very badly when I was younger and I remember so vividly the night that I was driving home and staring up at the stars and I realized that Star Trek wasn’t real. It was a pretty crushing realization and I remember shedding actual tears in my disappointment. I was highly unlikey to ever go into space – and even if I did it would not be as I had imaged it. So I love Space Operas. Mmmm … living vicariously.

I did a lot of performing arts when I was younger too. It was a hard decision to make – but there came a day when I had to decide whether I was going to pursue acting or science. I ended up chosing science for various reasons, but it was a close call. So, I’m pretty critical when I watch TV or movies. (I’m also really critical when I read, but that’s because I worship the written word like the Ancient Egyptians did. Well, almost.) I loathe poor acting, I won’t abide shitty scriptwriting and I’m highly picky about what movies I donate my $12 to. They also have to pass my pretty strict standards in terms of social justice. (I had a tense conversation with a co-worker about Bruno. Don’t go there.) So, the finishing point of all this rambling is that I’m very, very picky. I’m hard to impress. I’m even harder to woo.

BSG did some serious wooing.

After being badgered by my better half to (Please? Pleeeeeease? C’mon, please? Once? Just once? Today? Now? How about now? Is now good?) watch the miniseries I broke down on one of our raiding off weeks and watched it. I was fucking entranced. It was like three hours of scotch and catnip. It was amazing. Beyond amazing. Fabulous acting, (omg, Edward James Olmos, omg Katee Sackhoff, omg James Callis O.M.G. Mary McDonnell) delicious dialogue, superb characterization, epic storylines and very very little of the (dreary and common) scifi waffle. So many Canadian actors! All so very very good. (Why are they not on more Canadian TV shows? Why do they not have better roles on Canadian TV? CBC YOU OWE ME AN EXPLANATION!) Fabulous. Fablulous!

There were some limping episodes (hissssss Michael Angeli) later on in the series and I’ll say up front that I felt that the final episode was not enough of a crowning glory to such an amazing show. But I suggest you check out this post from Sady Doyle, a Lady Blogger who I also love with an epic love, and these recaps (Be warned: they are by three seperate authors. The first is quite good, the second very good and then there’s Jacob. Oh my dear sweet and gentle Jesus, thank you for sending the literary world Jacob. Amen.) over at TV Without Pity. (Honestly, some of the recaps were more moving than the damn series. It’s like BSG is a Russian Doll and each nested figure contains even more scotch and catnip. The more I see about BSG, the more I find to love.)

I love Battlestar Galactica.

Kara_Thricestar

Post Scriptum: If you’re not doing anything tomorrow, check out the first in my series of Caturday posts! (Seriously. I have them already written and scheduled until well into November. Which says a. that even if I stop blogging – again! – there will still be posts and b. I have a LOT of pictures of my cats.)

5 Comments

  1. kyrilean said,

    September 11, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I don’t know anything about Canadian TV, but I’m always amazed and somewhat surprised at the number of amazing Canadian actors in US television.

    And I’m assuming you’re looking forward to Caprica? :)

    • Oriniwen said,

      September 11, 2009 at 8:05 am

      I’m tentatively optimistic about Caprica. I’m willing to give it a shot, but I don’t know if it could be anywhere near as awesome.

  2. September 11, 2009 at 11:37 am

    We can has CATURDAY!

    This blog post is relevant to my interests. XD

  3. glithander said,

    September 11, 2009 at 11:42 am

    *applauds*

    Also, I <3 BSG. I about FELL OUT OF MY CHAIR mid-way through the serious when they rescued everyone from New Caprica. That whole SEQUENCE was more awesome than any show has any right to be. The Jump. Adama. That long sequence as they pan back as the Galactica gets pounded into obscurity by the Base Stars and just as the sad music starts to play, those two lone missles come in from off camera and you know…

    OMG. Must go watch it now.

    • Oriniwen said,

      September 11, 2009 at 11:45 am

      Whoa hey now chill with the spoilers :P And every second Mary McDonnel was on the screen is more awesome than anything on film has the right to be.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

