It’s my birthday! I mean … Brewfest.

Pumpkin Pi
So, I looooooooove the fall. I love everything about it! I love the colours, I love cool, crisp mornings and the angle of the sun at about 3:00 in the afternoon. I love apples and pumpkin pie and getting ready for Hallowe’en. I love raking the lawn and tucking the garden into bed for its winter sleep. I also love tossing the cats in the leaf piles, but that’s just between you and me. My birthday is also in the Fall (early Oct) so I tend to associate the celebration of the wonders of the Fall with the celebration of the wonders of, well, me.

Now I really get into Hallowe’en. Like, a lot. I’m damn near 30 and I still dress up, if only to give out candy to the kidlings that come by my house. And I decorate the house. And carve pumpkins. Lots of pumpkins! I have to admit I was absolutely charmed by my first Warcraft Hallowe’en. The pumpkins, the trick-or-treating, the costumes. Everything about it was absolutely delightful and I reveled in it. I did nothing else but Hallowe’en stuff for almost a full week. Joy! And then last year, along came Brewfest.

I am not an alcoholic. Really. I’m not really even a drunk (anymore). But I am Irish and I was a University student for a very long time, so I both enjoy my liquor and know how to pound it back. And I do. I like to drink, I usually have a bottle of wine for a good evening’s worth of raiding and I have argued in the past I’m actually a better healer when I’m half cut. I’m certainly a more relaxed raid leader. So today I really have to raise a glass (or several) to the Germans and their Oktoberfest. And another glass (or several) to Blizzard and Brewfest.

Every last thing about Brewfest just makes me giggle and grin. The oom pah pah music and the NPC chatter, especially the horde version with the goblin shouting “I can’t feel my legs!” The riding ram quests are great, but I’m very sad to see how the quest rewards have changed this year. I like the chance to get a kodo and all, but heading into an instance to fight a seasonal boss just seems so … done. (That being said, I havn’t done the Brewfest boss yet. Maybe I’ll enjoy it more once I’ve tried it.)

All being said and done, it’s very good to be home. I’m happy that the field portion of my project is done and I’m happy to be back at home in my own bed and I am indescribably happy to be back to a regular raiding schedule. My life is approaching something more normal again, and it makes me feel warm all over to see that the trees in my yard, the stores full of pumpkins and costumes and even Warcraft with its Brewfest revelry is celebrating right along with me. So, Slainte! everyone, have a pint and have a great Brewfest! (Hallowe’en is just around the corner!)

…hic!

3 Comments

  1. oriniwen said,

    October 10, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Edit: I did have a chance to do the Brewfest boss in BRD and lawdy did it ever live up to my expectations! The boss himself was a bit of a ho-hum but the brewmaiden tossing mugs and barrels was pants-wettingly funny. It was even funnier the crowd of people who wanted to “see Ori get barreled” for the first time. And don’t even get me started on the band. I literally cannot find the words to describe how much fun the whole encounter was with the punk rock soundtrack. I loved it, I loved every blessed, beery minute of the whole thing. Take *that*, Ahune!

  2. oriniwen said,

    October 14, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Second Edit: I had a wonderful WoW-themed birthday. I got the very nice J!nx t-shirt I linked in one of my previous posts as well as the one from the same site that says “Level ?? Humanoid”. I hope that wasn’t a reference to me getting a bit old. I hope. I got a very nice Alliance pewter keychain, which helps me to distinguish my lab keys from my jumble of other keys and a copy of WotLK. *Two* copies in fact, one CE and one regular, in case the CE doesn’t arrive on time. I am blessed!

  3. September 23, 2009 at 8:51 am

    […] Proto Drake, What A Long Strange Trip It's Been So, it’s Brewfest again! This is one of my very favourite Warcraft holidays and this year is extra special, because this is the last of the holiday set of […]


Leave a Reply

