Where Have All the Raiders Gone?

So, I’m a pretty big SciFi buff. I love a good space opera and I love the more speculative stuff as well. I’m a huge fan of the classic SciFi authors like Heinlein and Clarke and Asimov of course. Right now I’m brought to mind of a Clarke novel called Childhood’s End as well as the Culture series by one of my favourite modern authors, Iain M. Banks.

In both series humankind is presented with a sort of conclusion. The purpose of their lives is taken away from them because they know that there is either an insurmountable barrier to face or they know for certain the answer to “where do we go from here?” There is a final destination, it is knowable and no longer mysterious. In both scenarios, this causes man to descend into indolence and self-indulgence. Knowing that there is no point to their goals of social evolution or scientific progress or even philosophizing, they become hedonists, living only to please themselves, and sometimes wandering aimlessly through life, or even ending it entirely.

That is what WotLK has done to my server!

Everyone seems to think that since Wrath is incoming in such a short amount of time, there is no need to do anything! People are scampering all over the world doing exploration and trick-or-treating achievements or pissing around on Alt #73548687420 or simply just not playing. I had to give a metaphorical /bitchslap to a few of my raiders who said that they weren’t planning on attending anymore raids until Wrath. WHY!? Seriously, this confuses the absolute hell out of me, not to mention how angry it makes me!

Here’s my point. When I started raiding at 60 I was so low on the allmighty dkp totem pole that I swear there were lvl 1 critters getting loot before I did. So I entered Burning Crusade with an unholy mixture of T0 and T0.5, and two or three pity blues I got in ZG runs. (Not including Will of Arlokk. You bastards. I still want my snake staff). So of course I replaced most of that shit before I even hit 62. I had crap to begin with, and the upgrades in BC were incredible. And incredibly ugly. How many other Alliance casters wore the green Wailing Caverns Druid style pants, the bright red floppy hat and that disgusting purple top until they were like 65? *shudder* However, if you went into BC with a goodly amount of T2 or T3, you didn’t replace it until you got to T4. Maybe with some D3 stuff. I know because I raided Kara with folks kitted out in their T3 and they were passing on loots.

I have not personally been on the Beta or the PTR, but I get regular reports from my raiders and officers who are. One of my bear tanks is in mostly T4 and badge rewards gear and he didn’t replace one single item until 73 on the Beta. Not one. And if you’ve been following Big Red Kitty, you know that he’s not shucking all his hard-earned gear the minute he steps foot into Northrend.

So I have to ask people why? Why are you giving up? Why are you sitting on your asses and doing nothing? All the bosses have been nerfed! Why aren’t you out there raiding now while its fun and easy and you can see all sorts of content that you’re not going to want to go back to once you hit 80? In the past three days I have gotten three pieces of T5 and I’m thrilled! I know that I will have some amazing healing gear that will take me right to Naxx. And likely well into Naxx as well. I’m having a complete blast raiding, seeing boss fights I havn’t seen, as well as feeling the freedom to try different spell rotations and specs. I don’t see how you could ask for anything more. Raiding right now is like being a kid in a candy shop. The bosses are easy. The mechanics are fun. The pressure is off so I can experiment and not berate myself too much when I don’t heal as well as I know I can. And the loot flows like water. It really does.

My guild will keep raiding. We will keep gearing folks to help them get to 80 faster, we will keep practicing raiding with each other. Fighting and healing side-by-side and learning how to be a team. We will explore boss mechanics and we will tweak and perfect our specs and our spells as we go. And we will have an incredible time doing it.

Why aren’t you?

6 Comments

  1. Larísa said,

    October 23, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Very strange, really. I can’t possibly understand how it could be more fun to “explore” Desolace than to see an unseen raidevent and possibly even get some nice shiny gear to enjoy for at least a few levels in the expansion.

    We keep raiding. We keep rocking. I’m not entirely happy with the nerf but it doesn’t mean that I want to quit. There will be a LONG and painful pause from raiding soon enough. Why start it sooner than you have to?

  2. gevlon said,

    October 23, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    I really envy you for being able to raid. I decided to find progress raid guild on lvl 80 and forgot about the opportunity to find one on 70. Most guilds here are fun-raiding at best. I’m pretty busy with my business enterprises, but still I miss the raids. I wish I had a guild like yours. On 80 I will have!

  3. You know who. said,

    October 23, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Same thing happened when TBC came out. I do belive I said something along these lines months ago before my “retirement”. I’m loathe to say I told you so, but, you know, I may have. 🙂

  4. Shear said,

    October 24, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Maybe its the challenge. A lot of friends I raid with simply just stopped caring. With bosses falling over you could almost snooze your way through Sunwell now. I enjoy the social aspect of WoW a lot, but if the raids arent challenging there really isnt a point of logging in after the raid is over other than to keep up with friends.

  5. naithin said,

    October 27, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    While I’m nowhere near as far progressed as you guys – the furtherest I’ve seen is a pug of Hyjal where we downed two bosses – I do still find myself irritated by the feeling that raids are no longer important that many seem to be exhibiting. We still do Kara – in a little over 1h 30 now – and ZA, we form the odd pug Mags and Gruuls as well, and it is still extremely fun. We still have fresh 70s coming up even now, and it seems a shame to deny them these sights while they’re still relevant – and I do feel that they’re still relevant.

  6. mavfin said,

    October 28, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Actually, while I have raided some, I couldn’t care less about shiny stuff. It’s all old hat now. I want some new stuff, and starting WotLK with T4ish stuff is guaranteed to replace some stuff!


Leave a Reply

