The Acronomicon

So, just what the hell is everyone talking about these days?

I don’t think I will ever forget the day I was finally bold enough to ask over Trade Channel “Just what do LBRS and UBRS mean anyhow?” For anyone new to WoW, the burden of learning not only internet slang like ‘omw’ and ‘brb’ and ‘afk’ but all of the in-game abbreviations can be a formidable task. New ones crop up all the time, too. It was only a few months ago I had to ask someone what ‘iirc’ stood for and I’m certainly no noob.

It’s well known that jargon, lingo and acronyms are a way of defining the ‘in-group.’ If you know what we’re talking about, you’re one of us. If you don’t, well then you’re not worth talking to anyhow. Scientists are one of the worst groups of people for using and overusing lingo, and I know that when I head to the office or to the lab, my day with be filled with talk of CBM, TFX, the MRM and a vertiable kegger’s worth of greek letters. (For the record: Coal Bed Methane, Mixed Tidal Flats, Muskeg River Mine)

So what are we going to call all this new stuff? When Patch 2.4 came down, and we were introduced to the Sunwell content, I recall a day or two where there was discussion over various guild and chat channels about just what we were going to call all this stuff. “SWP” was an easy enough assignation, but we already had an “MT”. Two, in fact, though it was pretty easy to guess from the context if you were talking about dead draenei or … well actually I guess a Main Tank could be dead draenei, too. Hmm. I digress. I know on Thorium Brotherhood we eventually settled on “MagT” for the new 5-man, though I much preferred the runner-up, “MrT.”

But when I came online yesterday and said over guild chat “WTB group for AN” I was met with more than a few “wha?” I decided it was time that we sat down and figured out what exactly we were going to cal all this new crap so that we could understand each other.

I’ve already coined one new term, by the way, which is “ninja ghouls” for the little geist creatures in Utgarde Keep and Azjol-Nerub. And so I was happy to see people using the delightful “AKTOK” for the Old Kingdom instance. It’s fun to shout. I don’t think it will catch on in the server at large, though.

WoWwiki lists all the instances and some acronyms for them, not all of which I have seen in popular use on our server yet. It will be interesting to me to see which shake out as popular, especially with the tortuous spelling of some of the new names.

As an intersting aside, it’s also odd that people have different tolerances for what acronyms are allowable to be pronounced as-is and what should be spelled out. My own personal preferences range from thinking it perfectly acceptable, and even fun to say “ooo-burrs” or “luhr-burrs” (especially with a slightly german pronunciation on the latter) to tolerating “lawl” as long as it is meant sarcastically to kicking people off vent for coming on and asking how “wattle-kay” is treating everyone.

So talk to me, tell me about your acronoymic gaffes, what sort of abbreviations do you allow or disallow, do you have any specific to your guild and how many people spent the first few days stumbling over ‘Utgarde Keep’ or quested all day in the “Howling Forge”?

2 Comments

  1. Pike said,

    November 27, 2008 at 10:17 am

    My guild calls Uldaman “MJ”. After Michael Jackson. Some sort of injoke that I don’t think I was in on >.>

  2. oriniwen said,

    November 28, 2008 at 9:27 am

    @ Pike: I don’t think I get the joke either. But it’s nice to see we’re not the only ones will really silly little in-jokes. And it’s funny how they get passed along without people even realzing why. People who have only been with the guilda very short time will still announce a hard pull inc by saying “Valet ….. valet…” in the tone of voice of Ferris Bueller’s teacher.

    It’s an old joke from when I let the tanks die cause I wasn’t focussed enough on healing to realize that we had a Valet pulled (lolkara) and I bitched that maybe we needed a warning for those buggers or something.


Leave a Reply

