I Am The Walrus

So, I’m back!

I took a nice long holiday from blogging for a few reasons. Partially because I was up to my armpits in Christmas-related stuff like shopping, wrapping, hanging out with my family, eating too much rich food and napping on the couch. Partially because there was a lot – a lot – of drama going on in the guild and it was taking its toll on me. It’s sometimes difficult for me to collect my thoughts and put them down in some sort of order. This blog is usually very cathartic for me, the act of writing cleanses me, organizes my thoughts and feelings and makes them examinable from all angles, and of course easier to deal with. The drama we had was just … unspeakable.

But that is (knock on wood) behind us and things are ticking along nicely for Imposs. We did our very first 25 man raid last night and kicked some serious ass. It felt good. So very good. But more on that later!

When I was leveling the hunter, I didn’t actually put a whole lot of thought into what sort of rep grinds I would need to do in order to get some decent gear to get into Naxx. If I had, I think I would have been much more sensible and worked on my Knights of the Ebon Blade or Argent Crusade rep instead, as they have some very nice hunter-y things that I’d like.

But, I didn’t. I got myself a penguin instead.

I did the Kalu’ak dailies every day from the time I started leveling the hunter. I did all of the rep quests available in Howling Fjord, Dragonblight and Borean Tundra. I was much more assidious about doing my Kalu’ak rep dailies than I have been about any other rep grind so far. And because of Pengu! I am a nut for pets, and I have been salivating at the chance to get one of these adorable little birds.

Also, the Kalu’ak fascinate me. I like the anthropomorphic animal races in Warcraft quite a bit, I think they are typically well done and often very endearing. The walrus people are especially wonderful. The voice acting and the NPC chatter is engaging and memorable. I’ve changed Oriniwen’s guild note to “May your nets always be full!” I feel it is an appropraite saying for her and this exapnsion for a good many reasons, not the least of which is because I used to have a dear friend and fellow Beatlemaniac in my guild. She’s long sinced moved on from WoW to spend more time with her family, but for a while she was known as “The Eggman” and Maegwen – “The Walrus.” So I felt there was a neatness to identifying Oriniwen with a Kalu’ak saying.

A word to the wise, though. Don’t use the enlarging pet biscuits on Pengu. When you see him at that scale, you realize that bird has some serious Crazy Eyes.

May

4 Comments

  1. Indigo said,

    January 10, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Aww, poor crazy eyed penguin! I’m going to have to get one now just so I can check that out.

  2. Esdras said,

    January 12, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Congratulations.

    I need to do them for my epic fishing rod gieeeeeeeeeef.

  3. oriniwen said,

    January 14, 2009 at 8:37 am

    @ Indigo: He really is kind of intimidating looking when he’s bigger than a gnome. he’s pretty cute though and my fave pet of the moment.

    @Esdras: I actually to level my fishing to get the pole! My fishing was only at maybe 150 when I became exalted.

  4. Frijona said,

    January 15, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    I’d completely forgotten that I was doing this! Back to doing those dailies when I get home.


Leave a Reply

