Safety is Job One

So, Hob the Devilsaur is no friend of mine.

He can dps …oh lawdy can he dps. He can stomp around and annoy the raid. He has a huge big dino butt that you will find in your face if you go afk and don’t say anything. He has a really cute ‘squat and roar’ animation when he’s standing idle and a deliciously powerful looking snout-bash animation when he’s pwning face.

But what he can’t do is dance. And if he can’t dance, he ain’t no friend of mine!

I had our resident moonkin howling with laughter after our last attempt at Heigan the Unclean in 25 man Naxx. I rezzed that @#!&$%# devilsaur at least four times, including the instant rez. And invariably, I got about three seconds into Bestial Wrath and the dino would drop like a stone. Every time. Without fail. Which was of course a sizeable chunk out of my dps. It’s annoying to me, because Heigan is one of my favourite boss fights in Naxx. It took me exactly two wipes to get the dance down, and now I love it. The first death was my noobness. The second death was actually on our third attempt, when I was being a smartass and thinking I was more awesome than I was and ran a bit too far ahead. But I havn’t died on that fight since then, and I’m a huge fan of it. My brand new, super-awesome snarling, slathering, lightning fast gaming computer helps, too.

But, I still have pet management issues. I have looked around and the best advice I have found is “respec MM” which for me is not really an option, so here are some of my Beast Mastery thoughts on Heigan vs. The Devilsaur.

Instant pet, just add water!Tip 1: Heart of the Phoenix. Grabbing this talent is a must. Heigan can be a fight that can last forever and a day if enough disease-cleansing healers and a few dps are surviving dancing with the bosses. So, you may even be able to use the instant pet rez twice. If you’re rocking the exotic pets talent like I am, you’ll have more pet talent points than you know what to do with. And giving that glass cannon dps pet a few points into Great Stamina isn’t a bad idea either.

Be healed!Tip 2: Improved Revive Pet. I don’t have this talent right now, because I feel the need to use those two points elsewhere, but, I’m going to be in Naxx a lot, and I’m pretty sure I can squeeze a little more dps from somewhere else, so I’ll be respeccing. The faster pet rez time, and the added health is great.

Here, boy!Tip 3: Glyph of Mend Pet. I find that most of the hunter minor glyphs are pretty much a waste of time. This glyph however comes into it’s own on Heigan because if you’re looking at rezing your pet four times or more on one fight, he’s going to want to have that extra bit of happiness to get that extra bit of dps done in the short amount of time he’s going to be alive.

Tip 4: Spam Mend Pet. (Insert Monty Python Spam Song). Spam it, spam it good. You’ll get all your mana back while you’re dancing like no one is watching if you switch to Aspect of the Viper, so don’t worry. I generally find 25 man Heigan easier than 10 man because with the larger raid there are more heals floating around. However, sweet talking one of your healers into keeping half an eye on your pet and tossing him a HoT now and then isn’t a bad idea either. I’d suggest a Druid for this. They’re not cleansing Heigan’s disease and they have all sorts of yummy HoTs.

Canus Mortus, RequiemTip 4: Leave That Pet Dead. Leave him dead when you go down to the disco floor. His AI works very much like typing /f on a player and that just does not work on Heigan. So leave him dead and rez him while you’re waiting for your tank to get aggro when Heigan switches back to phase 1. I also find that since the lava waves kill the pet more than the disease, the dead carcass of my big, slow, walnut-brained devilsaur makes a good marker for where not to stand. Dead guildies likewise.

pewpew!Tip 5: Get Your DPS in Fast. Hit Beastial Wrath as soon as you can do it in Phase 1. All standard rules about aggro management apply, but your pet is going to die so you want to get some good dps out of him while he’s up. I’d also recommend getting some trinkets that you can use while your pet is down to keep your dps high. If you’re not using the Bestial Wrath macro, you should be.

afk, got auto shot onTip 6: Auto Shot for the Win. When you’re shaking your groove thang, keep auto shot running and you’ll get a few more dps points in. If you’re clever enough to watch your Serpent Sting cooldown and have the glyph for it and the glyph for Steady Shot, you can get a few of those in too while you’re busting a move on the dance floor. And nearer the end of the fight, you might be able to bang out a Kill Shot while you’re waltzing, as well as another one when you get back upon the platform. Pro Tip: If you’re closer to his platform, you have a shorter distance to travel and more time to get some shots into the boss while you’re doing the electric slide.

Sic 'em boy!Tip 7: Keep Your Friends Close. This is my “when all else fails” tip. If you’re pet is just going down like a featherweight every time Heigan so much as looks at him, then keep your pet close to you, up on the platform. He’s still likely to die during the polka party part of the fight, but you might be able to use mend pet enough to keep him going through it.

DRAnd as always, the TL: DR portion of tonight’s broadcast:
1. Heart of the Phoenix – The only good rez is a fast rez.
2. Glyph of Mend Pet – Less lol-worthy since 2008.
3. Spam Mend Pet – And hug a tree.
4. Leave That Pet Dead – Bad pet! No dance for you!
5. Get Your DPS in Fast – Hunters do it right now.
6. Auto Shot FTW – And you thought it was just for Curator!
7. Keep Your Friends Close – Sit! Stay! Good boy.

The Safety Dance

Source

Post Scriptum: A hundred years ago someone asked me where I get the WoW Icons for these posts. I completely forgot to reply, but you can find a large (but not comprehensive) list here.

8 Comments

  1. Yakra said,

    January 16, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I wrote a bonus post today, just for you!

    http://mirrorshield.blogspot.com/2009/01/heigan-dance-tips-tricks-for-phase-one.html

    Show it to your tanks/guild, and enjoy some leet P1 DPS.

  2. 7echno7im said,

    January 16, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Our hunter successfully dances with him (well 1 out of 2 did) as seen here.

    I am not sure how he does it, but maybe this will help with some of the positioning.

  3. Bummer said,

    January 16, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Well, Heigan is a tough fight for any pet class. If you are worried about dps on that fight (perfectionist? ^^) I understand. But just let the pet die, and pretend to be MM spec for the fight. How much does this gimp your dps? Also, do pets still get pissed when they die and you rez them? IE: hunger and loss of mood?

    GL on the boss fights!
    Bummer

  4. Ambrosyne said,

    January 16, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    At least it’s not as bad for us now, with all the +happiness methods that seem available other than feeding. Otherwise you’d not get more than one or two rezzes out before they got so pissed it almost wasn’t worth it. I’ll have to bookmark this post for the day when my hunter alt is 80 and hitting Naxx…

    …though I think I kind of shot myself in the foot for that event rolling two healers. D’oh.

  5. Indigo said,

    January 19, 2009 at 1:29 am

    Wow, you really know your hunter stuff, don’t you! I’ll have to remember all this for when it comes my turn with Indigoblue.

  6. Esdras said,

    January 19, 2009 at 5:00 am

    I am making a hunter tonight so it was nice to read this blog today.

  7. oriniwen said,

    January 19, 2009 at 9:58 am

    @ Yakra: I did take a look at that and I will suggest it next time we try Heigan. Anything that lets me keepmy pet alive longer is great!

    @7echno7im: I’ve been studying the video and I’m hoping that I can use some of his moves. (As an aside, my spam filter tried to keep you out, I think it might be your leet speak name. Just a tip in case you’re not seeing your comments appearing on other blogs!)

    @ Bummer: I am indeed worried about my dps. I live to min/max my hunter and I really feel a strong need to lead my dps by example. I havn’t run the numbers, but my pet contributes somewhere close to 1/3 of my dps, as well as to my healing when he’s up. I have been sort of fatalistic about letting him die and playing MM for the fight, but to me that’s not an acceptable solution any longer. He does get pissed when he keeps dying over and over, and that does take a cut out of his (and my!) dps, so it’s not ideal, though it’s not as bad as it used to be.

    @ Ambrosyne: I hear you. I had to fight tooth and nail to get back into dps after healing for all of TBC and parts of Vanilla WoW.

    @Indigo: Thank you so much for the compliment. Part of my mission when I got back into huntering was to make sure I was really on top of my game, so that I could show my guild that my switch from was good for us as a guild.

    @ Esdras: Welcome to the best class in the game! I’m a maniac for pets, so hunter is where it’s at for me. I’d love to hear about your plans for your hunter – race/spec/pet/ name etc etc😀

  8. Weezzii said,

    January 22, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Stumbled onto your site earlier tonight from Blog Azeroth after reading a rather interesting idea about “Trading Spaces.” I made a toon on your server to chat about it, but couldn’t track you down. Anyway though.. I have a few things to comment on about your Heigan issues.

    First off, the Devilsaur is a great pet for dps when it comes to the exotics — I’m sure you agree. Secondly, the Devilsaur’s hit box is close to the size of Jupiter, making it pretty annoying to have around for certain fights. In fact, the only fight we’ve seen it to be partially beneficial on is Malygos because he can actually attack while Malygos is taking off into the air.

    Back to the issue… pets on Heigan.
    The simple solution is to keep your pet on Heigan throughout the entire dance phase. Assuming you have the 75% avoidance to aoe effects… just keep up a mend pet on him and tell a healer that your pet is staying in – a HoT or quick heal will keep him alive throughout the entire phase with very little hassle at all… if any. I do this regularly, then as I dance, I get off one steady shot per dance “step” and refresh serpent.. and toss in arcane shots on the run.

    The problem with using a Devilsaur on this fight is that it is likely to get hit by lava eruptions even when it’s standing on the platform because of it’s ridiculous hit box. Using a different pet would turn better results for this, simply due to that.

    ~Anyway, just a quick note because I was browsing through your blog. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on everything… it’s an enjoyable read.

    btw, are you staying BM despite the recent changes?


Leave a Reply

