I Want You To Want Me

So, what is this Real Life thing I keep hearing about and why has it taken all my raiders away?

The Good Ship Imposs is looking a little empty these days. Our raid signups are really low and even at a time when the vent channels should be hopping, there is only one or two people lurking around, listlessly doing dailies. Where have all our raiders gone? Is it because we’ve dropped Maly 25 (once!) and now there is a feeling we’ve “beaten WoW”? Is it spring break/exams? Is it shoddy leadership? (ok, ok, I know I havn’t been around much except for raids, but I swear everyone in my extended family has gotten some Canada Day long weekend – judging by the amount of birthdays in early April.) Is is just a lack of raiders on Thorium Brotherhood?

What I’ve decided to do is completely ninja an idea from Larisa of the Pink Pigtail Inn and create a guild recruitment post here in the wonderful Warcraft Blogsphere. Thinking about server transferring? Thinking about joining a new guild? Thinking about how awesome I am? (You know you are!) Then read on! Maybe Impossibilium has what you’re looking for.

We’re looking to recruit about 8 – 10 new people; 4-5 ranged dps and 4-5 healers. (Please feel free to apply if you’re a melee dps or a tank, we’d love to hear from you, but I can’t make you any promises.)

Ranged dps
(In the order we need them)
Elemental Shaman – At the moment we have absolutely none of these. WTB Spacegoats!
Warlocks – We have one that runs regularily and two others that are on-again, off-again raiders. Be warned! My co-guild leader may look like a tree, but she’s all warlock underneath. She knows her stuff, you should too!
Hunter – I’m the only hunter that runs regularily, we have at least two who make a good many of the raids. I’d love to welcome a few more hunters into our ranks.
Mages – We have two who run regularily, one frost and one arcane-fire. More water dispensers are always a good thing!

Healers
(Also in the order we need them)
Druid – Only one who runs regularily. One who runs very intermittantly. We needs more trees!
Priest – Real life has completely robbed us of all our priests, so we don’t have any full-time priest raiders. We have three (not including my alt) who run sometimes, but we need a dedicated priest healer. I’m open to taking either Holy or Disc, but I don’t want to load up on one or the other.
Paladin – We have one regular pally healer and I’d love to see somenew blood come in to keep her onher toes!
Shaman – We have two regular shaman healers, but we’re losing one soon to his new job.

Requirements and Other Important Info
What we’re looking for in our recruits are people who are available 4 out of 6 of our raiding days, looking to/getting prepared to run Ulduar, and who are still willing to run and raid now to help the guild get prepared. There seems to be a trend to slack off a bit now, but we’re not willing to do that. We’ve taken Maly 25 down, but only once. We’ve never done Sarth with any of his drakes up, though we came very very close once with 1D. We’re not done all of our raid achievements. My opinion is that there is still a lot of very fun raiding for us to do between now and 3.1 and I want people in my guild that want to do that raiding. Who want to head into Ulduar in tip top shape as a nicely knitted team. Right now, we’re fragmenting, drifting and just plain loafing, so I’m hoping that the influx of new blood will light a fire under some of our exisiting membership.

We are looking for people who have all of their gear properly gemmed and echanted, who have the frost resist set which is also gemmed and enchanted and who can lay down 2.5 – 3.0k dps, fully raid buffed in a 25 man. We expect our members to come to every raid with all of the consumeables they need – food, flasks, reagents – though we do have a guild vault tab that we use to help people out if they can’t find the time to farm for consumeables that week. Otherwise our vault runs on a ‘karma’ system – you put items in and you earn points that you can spend to take items out.

Our raid-required mods are Omen and DBM or BigWigs. We dole out loots using the EPGP system, and you can find the mod here if you like, though it’s not required for anyone other than officers. Participation in our forum community is very important, and once you’ve been accepted to the guild, we’ll walk you through the process of getting an application in to the forums. It’s critical that our raiders check the forums once a day, and that new folks spend a good amount of time there reading the important posts on our policies and procedures.

We raid on a three week cycle, with a ‘week’ defined as Tuesday to Tuesday (i.e one server reset to another). We raid 5-6 nights a week for the first two weeks of our cycle, then we have a week off of raiding so that folks can have a rest, restock consumeables, do some PvP … whatever you need to do to still enjoy the game. There are typically “fun-runs” posted on our off-weeks, but they’re not mandatory, nor are they run under the EPGP system.

We have an earnable title in our guild – Dedicated Raider. Dedicated raiders are those who go well above and beyond the minimum requirements for raiding and are a true asset and shining example to the guild. They get some pretty nice perks, mostly top consideration for raid spots and discounts on loots and items fromthe guild vault. We do an audit every off week and make sure that people who have the Dedicated title are continuing to put in the effort required of our top-notch members.

You can find Thorium Brotherhood here on WoWProgress and Impossibilium here.
If you’re into WoWJutsu (and there are some reasons you might not be) you can find Thorium Brotherhood here and Impossibilium here. There are also links to my two characters in the armory on my widget sidebar, as well as a page about my guild.

Our guild website is here and the application form is the tab on the lower right. I really, really look forward to hearing from some of the folks out there in the Warcraft Blogging Community. I’m thrilled to be a part of this larger WoW community, and I’m really hopeful that you will want to be a part of Imposs. It’s an amazing guild to be in, it really is.

Post Scriptum: If you do plan to apply, and you’re using a gmail account, please drop me a line at my blogging email and let me know. I get a metric assload of spambots applying from gmail accounts, and I generally just delete them.

7 Comments

  1. Klinderas said,

    March 30, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Wrong server, wrong faction.

    Looks like I’m SOL on this one XD

  2. glithander said,

    March 30, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Hopefully, I’m one of the two Mages… 😀

    Seriously, though – I think it is more because of Spring Break than anything else. The numbers have been down the last couple of weeks; and with us clearing Maly (once) I’d think we’d start to get more sign-ups.

    You know, it could also be a bad case of alt-itis. I think that nearly everyone that is logging in, is doing so on an alt (I’m on my Druid, and you’ve got Undi, Drak and the crew on their lowbies… 🙂 ). Probably more a symptom than a cause, but it is still there.

  3. candy said,

    March 30, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Might I suggest you consider a shadow priest as your ranged dps? They are monsters on 25man trash, and very respectable on the bosses as well. Not that I am biased or anything…it would also give you Fort for your raids, and a pinch hitter AOE healer once dual specs are a reality.

  4. Larísa said,

    March 31, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Good luck in your recruitment! So far my ad has given us one application, as far as I know of. Of course it was the wrong class, a mage, but wow, that application was so brilliant, the best I’ve ever seen. I think he’ll get an invite anyway. And in that case – it served its purpose to post it on the blog. You have to try every way you can think of when recruiting these days. At least on my realm there are quite a few guilds that need more people.

  5. Oriniwen said,

    March 31, 2009 at 10:32 am

    @ Kilnderas: I really wish I knew a good horde guild for you :*(

    @ Big Daddy G: Of course you are! You and Jett are awesomesauce 🙂

    @ Candy; Hrm, my recruitment officer didn’t specify any SPs. I wonder why? Well, we’dcertainly consider the application if it was a shadow priest – for all the reasons you mentioned and then some!

    @ Larisa: Nice! I’m so glad to hear things worked for your post. So far, no real responses, but I’m hopeful. I’ll likely post this on the recruitment forums as well. *crosses fingers for both of us*

  6. Melissa said,

    April 1, 2009 at 6:14 am

    I think some of it may be spring break, but some of it may be “I’ve cleared and am going to do other stuff till Ulduar comes out.”

    Another friend is having the same issue in his guild’s runs. They posted a new rule to the guild notes that those showing up right now for raids will be given top priority when Ulduar comes out. It has brought some people back to their scheduled raids.

    I know I have been sitting out of our guild’s runs, but they are still full. I don’t see that I could get anything better from 10-mans while there are many in our guild who haven’t been through 10 man naxx much. I’d rather sit out than take up a space for someone who needs or wants it.

  7. April 14, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    […] grief this recruiting stuff is hard […]


Leave a Reply

