This Wasn’t In My Contract

So, if you’ve surfed onto this blog from one of my forum posts, Welcome! Thank you for taking the time to indulge your interest in my wonderful guild, Impossibilium. I’m justifiably proud of both this blog and the guild that it’s about so please, make yourself at home. Have a little look around and become part of the extended Warcraft community!

Good grief this recruiting stuff is hard work!

I don’t usually do the recruitment dance. That’s the baliwick of my co-guild leader and partner in crime. It’s something she’s always tackled with her usual zest and effusive charm, and something that I’m a little … clumsy at. (For the record, the last time I tried I got a 24 hour forum ban. Doing it wrong, to be sure.)

But some days Real Life cannot be crowd controlled and poor Shanaria is being hit hard by the twin evils of illness and general economic troubles, so the task of beefing up or ranks has fallen to yours truly.

Post on the recruitment forums? Check!
Post on the realm forums? Check!
Obsessively checking, rechecking, bumping and generally fussing over said posts? Check!

Now, maybe when I get home from work tonight I can start the “flogging of the guild over various chat channels” routine as well as stalking searching for unguilded folks who might be willing to join us.

I’m exhausted already.

Our raid enthusiasm is really coming in fits and spurts lately, and I’m very optimistic about the possibilities of the new content that’s coming down the pipes today (today!!!) really lighting a fire under the guild members. However, I think to really be able to give the guild soup a good stir, we need to introduce some new ingredients. New guildies are always a cause for excitement. Who are they? What are they like? Do they sound sexy over vent? What is their playstyle like?

Yay for healthy competition too! I think a few of our raiders (not the least of which is me) have grown a little complacent in their spots in raids and on the meters. A little bit of threat from the Young Guns might shake up the Old Guard a bit and get them back on their toes. I know that there is a vast sea of players out there, and I can feel it in my bones that there are some future Imposs lifers (and officers???) out there, I just have to find them. I’ll be casting my net far and wide over the next few weeks, working diligently to swell our ranks, so any advice or words of encouragement would be most welcome.

Also, maybe the forum trolls are all asleep, but I’ve avoided them so far. Yay for me!

2 Comments

  1. Melissa said,

    April 14, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I know this may sound horrible, but maybe try pugging some people who are in guilds. The fact is that even those who are guilded may be in a small social guild and may not be willing to leave out of fear of winding up eternally guildless. Or with the patch, those guildies who have been MIA may reappear.

  2. Oriniwen said,

    April 14, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Oh I’m certainly not above poaching. Especially if the poachee expresses dissatisfaction with their current guild. I’m not actually above trying just about anything at this point, up to and including addicting my younger sister to the game. She rolled a druid over the weekend. Level 5 and counting!


Leave a Reply

