Running Scared, Laying Low

So, I worry I might have to start seeking out the poorer quarters where the ragged people go, looking for the places only they would know.

Layoffs have begun at my company and while we got the expected Calm The Troubled Waters email from the company bigwigs, I’m not so foolish as to believe that there isn’t an element of uncertainty in my future. I’ll keep my head down and do my job and hope that the spotlight doesn’t shine on me.

I know what it’s like to be unemployed for long stretches of time, I know what happened to me and my home life last time and I know that I don’t want to have to go back to that dark place.

Though, if I do get laid off, I could always just move to New Zealand.

But, to keep my mind off things, I have been planning a whole slew of new and exciting blog topics. I find that my muse is a capricious creature and I have decided that if I can create a few regularily occurring topics to blog about when all else fails, I might be able to muster up the words to say something relevant and readable.

The first series of posts I want to work on will be called “Portrait of a Raider.” I will be looking at different ‘types’ or ‘styles’ of raiders, how to recognise them, what they bring to a raid, what type of guild they work well with and what sorts of situations they don’t work well with. I have a few raider archetypes already planned, but this post is also a call for ideas and suggestions. Talk to me about some of the recurring types of raiders you’ve seen and how they’ve worked (or not) with your guild and your raiding style.

The second series of posts will hopefully hark back to my theme of examining the intersections of WoW and my life. I intend to call them “WoW! Geology!” posts and I will be looking at occurrances of geology in Warcraft, or using geology (and perhaps a smattering of other sciences) to explain and illuminate facets of Warcraft lore, maps and items. I’m open to suggestions on this topic as well. Did you seem some bit of WoW topography and wonder if it has any basis in reality? Have you seen some geology-related terms used in Warcraft and wondered just what the heck that term really meant? Do you want to know why the Venture Co. Geologists in Stranglethorn Vale shoot balls of lightning from their hands? (An unholy combination of scotch, limestone and a book of engineering jokes – known only to a few select initiates of a shadowy cabal.)

Bottom line is, work is good (though precarious) for now, raiding and recruting are doing very well, and the weather sucks bilgewater. Only amazing blog posts can come of these conditions. I can feel it.

12 Comments

  1. Isisxotic said,

    May 13, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Oooh, cool! I’m looking forward to the raider profiles.

    Here are some that I encounter:
    – The Hardcore – spends no time on any alts, but is constantly bettering the main. Can recite their class thread from EJ by heart
    – The Hypocrit – says they want a casual friendly raiding environment, but gets pissed when someone doesn’t know extreme details of their class such as spell coefficients
    – The Provider / Mama- always helping out other raiders, and always has an extra stack of pots or food to spread around

    • Oriniwen said,

      May 13, 2009 at 9:36 am

      I’ve already collected some thoughts on The Hardcore and Mama Bear, but I love The Hipocrit idea. Definately will be using that, with appropriate citiations🙂

  2. Ruarc said,

    May 13, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Is there any logical reason for Blade’s Edge other than it looks cool?

    The crazy crazy climates are another can of worms =O

    • Oriniwen said,

      May 13, 2009 at 9:38 am

      Short answer: No.

      Long answer: I will look into the (supposed) tectonics of the area more, but since each area is pretty much a stand-alone in terms of climate/geology/topography/environment/ecology, it’s hard to get a real idea of the regional geology of Azeroth and it’s tectonic history.

  3. glithander said,

    May 13, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Yeah, by Blade’s Edge seems really crazy – even for an RPG. While not a geologist, I spent some time trying to figure out how you’d get that.

    But then, all of outland should be pretty much impossible – there just isn’t enough mass left to account for the amount of gravity needed to hold things like, oh, atmosphere and water and animal/plant life, to the surface.

    So yeah, I’d be all over some WoW! Geography! and Science!

    • Oriniwen said,

      May 13, 2009 at 10:18 am

      Well, it is a fantasy world and doesn’t pretend to be anything but so I think there will be quite a few things that have to be explained by “magic” instead of science.

      But one thing about WoW is there are quite a few things that make very good scientific ‘sense’ and those are worth talking about. It’s also going to be fun to talk about things that are scientifically unpossible, though. As well, exploring geologic and other scientific ideas that are touched on in WoW will be fun too. I hope!

      • glithander said,

        May 13, 2009 at 10:22 am

        It always amazes me how consistent fantasy worlds tend to be – even when you look at them very closely. The ‘Atlas of Middle Earth’ does a wonderful job explaining the landforms and geography of Tolkien’s world, for example. If you don’t have it (or the ‘Atlas of Pern’) I’d highly recommend them.

  4. HP said,

    May 13, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Good to know that you will be posting more in the future =) I hope bad things don’t happen to you >.> Stay optimistic!!

  5. Melissa said,

    May 13, 2009 at 11:36 am

    I’m not sure what umbrella these types would fit under:

    The tank who chewed me out for not bubbling him when our healer couldn’t keep up in hUP.

    The competitive people – it’s not about downing a boss. It’s about who has the highest dps at the end of a fight. They are the ones who constantly want to post recount data.

    The couple – They raid together and have to constantly call each other pet names over vent and make sexual inuendos.

    As for me, I don’t know the EJ thread by heart, but I know the basics and just go from there. The big difference is I did level my mage at the same time. She is 80 now and its nice to let my pally rest and do something different in naxx (No Ulduar yet for the pally. I’m looking though).

    Blades Edge?
    Lava tubes where the tops slowly eroded? Making canyons and rocks jutting out on top??
    Or
    Glacial activity? Though this doesn’t explain the rock formations.
    Or
    Nobody at Blizzard took a geology class? LOL

    As for Tolkiens world, I started playing LOTRO on days I’m not raiding and I do have to say that the scenery is beautiful. Especially the Shire.

    • Oriniwen said,

      May 13, 2009 at 12:56 pm

      I’m trying to think of other landforms that are as ‘sharp’ as the ones in Blade’s Edge. Some glacial erosion might do it. I was going to do my first WoW! Geology! post about thorium (being from the ThoBro server and all) but maybe I’m going to have to do Blade’s Edge first!

      I don’t know what science the Dev team at Blizz knows, but it must be more than average judging by the things they got ‘right’. Blade’s Edge Mountains might just be one of those things only magic can explain🙂

  6. kyrilean said,

    May 14, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Sorry to hear about your situation. I know all to well what that’s like.

    With regards to another type and piggybacking off of Isis:

    The Ultra-hardcore – has multiple raiding toons, constantly bettering each of them. Can recite all class threads from EJ by heart and more importantly can ask you why you didn’t take X talent instead of Y talent and give a 30 minute explanation as to why that will increase your dps by Z. (True story. Had a guy do this in a raid AND he was right!)

    • Oriniwen said,

      May 14, 2009 at 7:55 am

      Good grief, that *is* Ultra-Hardcore. I know a lot about two very different classes, but I don’t think I’m anywhere near that versed in both of them.


Leave a Reply

