Friday I’m In Love

growing_heartI love Warcraft a whole lot. (I should think that that would be obvious by now tee hee.) But there are actually other things out there that I love too! Really there are – and there are other things that I make time in my life for (not always the easiest thing – curse you raid schedule! – but I do try). One of the things that I love that is not Warcraft is the PopCap game Plants vs. Zombies.

I’ve been a fan of PopCap since way way way back in my younger days (I can conclusively date my Bejeweled addiction to early Fall, 2001. At least.) I like a lot of their games and I like that you can play them online for free. Fun! Diverting! Why write this biochem paper when I can match animals against the clock? When I was away earlier this summer (Field Season 3: The Search for Scotch) I had no internet connection on site and loads and loads of free time. So when I was back in my hotel room I downloaded the demo versions of all of my favourite PopCap games. And then this new one that sounded like it might be ok.

It was way, way more than ok.

I think I played the 60 minute trial at least four times the first day (I figured out how to re set the settings on my computer so the game would think it was a new trial.) When I got to the hotel that night, I willingly (eagerly!) shelled out the $20 for the full version and it was fabulous!

The little plants are just too damn cute! The gravemuncher “om nom nom” sounds and animations had me totally giggling out loud. And the corn-apults and watermelon-apults were such an unexpected delight. The zombies were hysterically funny and the game play clever and intuitive. It’s pretty much a tower defense game but the way it is packaged is a singularily unique joy. I love the mini games (I’m a big fan of Zombotany and the one where you play as a zombie and nom cardboard plants). The in-game alamanac that has descriptions/biographies of all the plants and zombies is really clever and witty (with only one concern – what the hell is with the vast, vast majority of all the plants and zombies being male?) The little Zen Garden mini game you can acess after playing through the game once is pretty cool too because it lets you collect all the plants – awesome!

I used this site for some good advice (yes, I hacked my game to give me lots of money. *shifty eyes*). GameFAQs has a few other good resources, to. There’s also a PvZ wiki! Otherwise it’s pretty straightforward and addiciting gameplay. One piece of advice: using garlics to channel the assault into the middle three rows is a pretty solid strategy.

Two last things about PvZ – 1) Check the music video out here. So catchy! 2) PopCap has my undying gratitude for their way of dealing with this shit (which disgusts me on several levels – as a gamer, an internet surfer, a female, a human being with more than two functioning brain cells.)

I love Plants vs. Zombies. And I’m not the only one!

Post Scriptum: I have heard that the makers of the crappy game linked above (I’m not providing them with any extra advertising. All my links go to sites that are criticising their shittacular ad campaing) are associated with gold spammers/farmers/sellers. I can’t find the link atm, but I metion it just in case you needed an additional reason to not give them your clicks, links or money.

Post Post Scriptum: Tomorrow is (yay!) Talk Like A Pirate Day! (In addition to Caturday) There is even an in game event, so don’t miss out! Arrr, ye salty gopher!

5 Comments

  1. lodur said,

    September 18, 2009 at 8:15 am

    I LOVE Plants Vs. Zombies. that game is made of pure and total win.

  2. Rhii said,

    September 18, 2009 at 11:22 am

    I haven’t played Plants v. Zombies, and normally tower defense is beyond my minimal level of coordination, but I like your rave review.🙂

    The level of enthusiasm lately is so catchy!

    • Oriniwen said,

      September 18, 2009 at 2:31 pm

      It’s too easy to focus on the negatives – boss wipes, understaffed raids, dramaz. I like to think that making myself take time to focus on the good things outside of WoW both shows me that there *are* good things to be had and that WoW is not the be all and end all of my life.

      Feels like it sometimes, lol, but it’s not.

  3. Gevlon said,

    September 19, 2009 at 2:14 am

    Hilarious game

  4. jederus said,

    September 23, 2009 at 6:55 am

    I really enjoyed PvZ myself although I wanted more. Finished the game in about 3 evenings with another 2 or 3 for the mini games. I am, however, a sucker for tower defense games. IF you like this sort of thing you might also want to try Defense Grid: The Awakening. Another highly polished tower defense game.

    Interesting WoW synergy: This sub-genre of stategy game, tower defense, arguably has its roots in Warcraft 2 where the first popular user made “tower defense” mod was created and widly distribued.


Leave a Reply

