The Good, The Bad, The Ugly.

So, this is how my Wednesday went down.

The Good: I did my Brewfest dailies on my priest, got 351 beer tickets, and got my achievement! Look!

The screen is fuzzy because it's Brewfest

The screen is fuzzy because it's Brewfest

Loooooook! So pretty! My Flying Purple People Eater!

Do I eat only purple people?

Do I eat only purple people?

The Bad: Word got around that there was going to be an Onyxia raid. So our 25 signups dwindled to 19 (mysterious!) plus two late people. So 17. Enough to do a 10 man, though! If one of our late people (a healer) had shown up, we very likely have been able to do two ten mans. But, it was not to be. I gave a stern lecture to everyone on the importance of signing up up for raids (novel idea!) and expressed how disappointed I was in the people who declined over the last 24 hours. (Except for the one guy who had a good excuse – he got a new job today! Yay for gainful employment!) and then stemmed the flood of QQ.

Now look, I know that there is going to be QQ no matter what happens. I know that I could magically give everyone GM powers and let them loose on the world and there would still be QQ. (Whaaaatt? I have to type in .kill to take down Arthas??? But that’s tooooo haaaaarrrrd.) But Christ on a candlestick people – don’t complain at *me* when the signups dwindle. Complain at the selfish bastards who decide that if the raid isn’t going to be something they’re crazy excited about or need anything from that they don’t care enough to go anyhow. And also: STFU about the fact that when we post raids, we just say “25 man raid” and not specify where we’re going until right before raid. You know why we do that? This is why. This is also not my fault and I respectfully direct your attention to the “Not A Team Player” section of the guild.

Anyhow. One ten man raid. We have an earnable rank in our guild, based on people who go above and beyond what is expected of “typical” raiders. One of the perks of this rank is that if there are limited raid spots, they go to these people first. I do not have this rank, because there is a pretty strict attendance requirement and I havn’t managed to quite make it yet. So, I got to sit on the sidelines for our very first (New! Improved! Now with more whelps!) Onyxia raid. It made me pretty bummed, but hey I guess them’s the breaks. I make the rules, I have to live by them, too. No matter how much my squeeing Ony fangirl heart longed to be in there, pew pewing, and handling the many whelps.

The Ugly: Look, the other night (Monday, maybe?) I had talked to our late healer. He said he was going to be late. I asked him to send me and/or our Raid Leader an in game mail about it, because I was unlikely to remember five minutes from now that he was going to be late. Let alone two days. He gave me some guff about it (but, but, but I doan waaaaaannnnnnnnaaa) and I reminded him it was actually part of our policy, could he do it please? He got pouty about it, and huffed off, but I assumed that he had done it. He evidently had not because I didn’t have a mail last night and neither did our Raid Leader. And I – of course – had forgotten that he had mentioned it.

Half an hour into our raid time, our late healer comes onto vent and in an insolent, sassy-bitch tone says, “Oh, Ori, I’m sure you noticed I didn’t send you an in game mail about me being late tonight like you asked. I’m *soooooooooo* sorry,” and then brightly, “Well, arewe doing anything tonight?”

First: You know what? I didn’t much like your pushing the boundaries and your “tee hee I am so disobedient and naughty” attitude when you first came into this guild. My liking for it has not increased with exposure.

Second: YOU SIGNED UP FOR A RAID! YOU KNEW YOU WERE GOING TO BE LATE! FOR A RAID! WHAT IN THE FUCK DID YOU THINK THAT WE – A RAID GUILD – WERE DOING AT HALF AND HOUR AFTER OUR RAID START TIME!?? ON A RAID NIGHT!?

Third: That there is the final straw.

To the guild: I’m sure you all saw me spend the night in the officer channel on vent where only officers could come talk to me. And I’m sure there are people amongst you who thought I was ‘off sulking’ and honestly, if you want to think that, that’s fine. The reality is that I didn’t feel like being in your company. I was embarassed at my reaction to our healer’s jerky attitude on top of the QQ about raids and the lack of concern for my feelings about the Onyxia run. I didn’t want you all to hear that in my voice. I also didn’t want to listen to you guys try to re-learn the Ony fight. I didn’t want to be a part of you last night.

I didn’t feel like you wanted me to be a part of you.

Post Scriptum: Titled “Insult to Injury or Here Is Some Salt For Your Wounds.” The computer ate this post and I had to re-write it. Prolly a good thing as there was a lot more “fuck” involved the first time.

12 Comments

  1. Oriniwen said,

    September 24, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Good god this is a self-indulgent whine-fest, isn’t it? I’m tempted to take it down, honestly.

    Ah well, I guess I need to leave the bad (posts) up with the good.

  2. Matojo said,

    September 24, 2009 at 9:39 am

    That healer sounds obnoxious and any tearing of new orifices would be justified, but I am a bitter, angry person and choose not to take leadership positions for that very reason.

    I hope the rest of yer week/weekend is better.

    • Oriniwen said,

      September 24, 2009 at 11:22 am

      I hope so too. I’m not overly tolerant sometimes and I was having a pouty night myself, so I think I could have dealt with our obnoxious healer a bit better.

  3. Jov said,

    September 24, 2009 at 9:53 am

    You could always come to Scarlet Crusade and play horde with meeeeeee >.>

    owait– not helping?

    • Oriniwen said,

      September 24, 2009 at 11:22 am

      It’s an appealing thought! I know if I was twins or cloned or something, I’d want to be able to raid on Horde too – so many awesome peeps!

  4. glithander said,

    September 24, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I’ve been pondering what to say here. I’ve already shared some thoughts on this in another forum; but I do want you to know that it was painful to watch you sit out last night, Ori. Had I been DPS, I would have happily offered my spot to you.

    I’ll just say that you were missed, and I was hoping that you’d live vicariously through us – but I totally understand why you were down a channel. Next time, we’ll kill that b*tch together.🙂

  5. Melissa said,

    September 24, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    After reading your blog for about 6 months now AND playing on the same server for about 2 years, I have to say that I think you are one of the most tolerant guild leaders around! I’m a hard-ass. My guild would likely be empty by now under similar circumstances! LOL

    • Oriniwen said,

      September 30, 2009 at 10:27 am

      I’ve often said that if I guild kicked everyone who pissed me off, I’d be in a guild all by myself. Maybe not even that🙂 I’m lucky I have such a level headed team of officers keeping me from nerdraging too too much.

  6. Larísa said,

    September 25, 2009 at 12:21 am

    A bit strange that people disappered for Onyxia. I don’t get it. Sure, many have done it before, but aren’t they curoious to see the rewamped edition once at least? AND besides, it surely didn’t take all night? We oneshotted her – and this in spite of the fact that there were a few mistakes made and some 10 players were dead towards the end… All in all it took us like 15 minutes. The biggest time sink with Onyxia is to make your way there. (yay for teleport Theramore!)

    • Oriniwen said,

      September 30, 2009 at 10:28 am

      It did actually take them an hour or more. We have a lot of people in our guild who didn’t raid Vanilla WoW -we actually have a surprising amount who didn’t raid TBC, either. I think there is a point to be made there about Blizz keeping those new customers rolling in.

  7. naithin said,

    September 26, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    I’m glad you didn’t take it down, if nothing else it serves as quite the poignant reminder that /no/ guild can be some perfectly happy pleasantville-esque place at all times.

    I hope though, that this sort of thing isn’t becoming typical of your experience with your guild! If it is, time to start taking a Melissa-ish approach to things, methinks!😉 I’m still working on catch up on your posts though, but I am so glad I found your blog again!

    I sort of fell off the face of the earth for a while so far as blogging was concerned, but saw one of your old comments on my old blog and googled yer name, and lo and behold, here I am! (Perhaps this explains why googling your name brings you so many results? Other people in similar circumstances as I found myself. Hah. Also, belated happy Blogiversary!)

    Anywho, I hope things take a turn for the better for you very shortly, and you garner at least as much enjoyment from the game and guild again as I have thus far catching up on yer writings!

  8. youyankityoutankit said,

    September 29, 2009 at 9:40 am

    This past week our raiders decided not to show up to raid [various reasons – “I don’t need anything”; “You won’t let me bring my alt”; “I’m burned out”, “But I want to tank!”]. In 25 mans we put forth our best. We have 2 regular tanks and 5 or so others who decide to show up once in a blue moon [some are squishy]. Well, we had 13 people online for the 25 man… hmmm… So we took 10 of them to Ony10, OS plus 1 and EoE [of the other 3, 2 were saved to ony10 and the third never signs up for raids.

    We had a few people log on late and be annoyed, had one officer gquit because he wasn’t taken [and also had not signed up for the 25 man]. Strangely, an hour after time, we had 25 people online finally. One of the 10 man members suggested “Oh, let’s get everyone together now!”

    No. If they don’t want to show up on time [save the one guy who had mailed us a note that he’d be late]. They can go do what they like. We’re going to have fun regardless😀


Leave a Reply

