When In Doubt, NINJA!

So, I wanted to talk a little about some healing experimentation I’m doing, but I’m lazy and when my blog reader coughed up this lovely nugget from Amber of I Like Bubbles, I figured why waste the energy? Plus, it allows me to do some shameless plugging for my blogging guildies. And, as a lovely side bonus, it introduced me to the new blogger who started the whole thing! Hi there Jessabelle of Miss Medicina!

Thank you Amber for just being awesome and a general inspiration!

View the whole crazy link round-up here!

Kelynaria, (a.k.a Amerya, a.k.a. Big Daddy G), your treeness has been tagged!
Myrah, I know you don’t WoW blog very much, but let’s hear a spacegoat’s point of view! (OMG! Myrah has accepted my challenge! Check out her reply here.)

Your mission, should you two chose to accept it:

Post this questionnaire, with your answers, on your blog. Pick the healing class you know most about (or is the focus of your blog) for the questionnaire, and then send it over to another healing blogger you know and love who heals with a DIFFERENT class. Include a link to the blogger who sent you the questionnaire, as well as a link to the blogger to whom you are sending it.

Onward to the questioneering!

  • What is the name, class and spec of your primary healer?
    Maegwen, the Holy Priest.
  • What is your primary group healing environment?
    Raids, both 10 and 25, with a healthy does of 5 mans. Practically never PvP and absolutely never arena.
  • What is your favourite healing spell for your class and why?
    Circle of Healing (a.k.a CoH). Cause I’m laaaaaazy. Though, Prayer of Mending (PoM or “bum heal” is a very close second).
  • What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?
    lolwell. Because seriously, lolwell.
  • What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why? Versatility and usefulness. Tank healer? Sure! Raid healer? Sure! Buffer? Why not! Pewpew? Of course!
  • What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why? Cloth. Splat!
  • In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel is, in general, the best healing assignment for you?
    Float healing or healing one specific group of people (i.e. melee on XT).
  • What healing class do you most enjoy healing with and why?
    Tree droods have nice compliments to priest heals. Plus, we have a lot of them and I’ve grown fond of them, they don’t want my loots (much) and having more than one around gives me the giddy feeling I’m at a baptist revival. (And brez. Woo brez!)
  • What healing class do you least enjoy healing with and why?
    Healadins. Jesus christ getting a bunch of -adins of all stripes to get their shit together and buff and aura and then not have anyone in the raid whine about the buffs is like fifteen percent of my nightly raid headache.
  • What is your worst habit as a healer?
    Just one? Uhm … prolly a tie between my clicking playstyle and my general lack of attention to my *own* health.
  • What is your biggest pet peeve about healing while in a group environment?
    Lack of concern for the healers in terms of situational awareness. I’ll bring this mob right to the healer! Maybe I’ll run right at them during light bomb! Or eye beams! Healers love eye beams!
  • Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?
    I think trees have a few more tricks up their branches than priests. And I miss my OP CoH. But overall, I think we’re quite good at what we do.
  • What tools do you use to evaluate your performance as a healer?
    Is anyone dead because of my fail? No? Ok, cool. I also check overhealing meters from time to time just to make sure I’m not too far up on them.
  • What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?
    I don’t know, to be honest. Maybe that they’re hard to play?
  • What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?
    Binding heal seems to get forgotten a lot. Mana management is a little harder for priests just learning – at least in my experience. I’ve watched a lot of new healers in all the classes learn and not “panic healing” is a big one for everyone.
  • If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?
    I’m not always on the top – and I’m fairly high up on overheal, but that’s not a bad thing, lol.
  • Haste or Crit and why?
    Crit – it seems to have slightly better synergy with my spec and playstyle. Though I wouldn’t say no to assloads of Haste either.
  • What healing class do you feel you understand least?
    Shamans. Shamans in general are a little confusing for me. Though, I used to say that about paladins as well.
  • What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?
    Errr …. DBM. I mostly WoW naked. I am toying with Grid to see if that gives me any massive improvements. A story for another day!
  • Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?
    Not really, I like to load up on int, but a good balance is best for priests. Which is nice in some ways, but aggrivating in others.
  • Can you tell I’ve been focusing more on my healer and less on my hunter these days?

    Post Scriptum: Updated Blogroll. Observe!

    5 Comments

    1. Mithrilbeard said,

      October 30, 2009 at 11:12 am

      Great post. Matches what I would answer pretty closely, except for “least useful spell” – I’d say “Heal”. And “Favorite Healing Class” would be “Any other Imposs healer”. And I’m glad to see I’m not the only healer who goes add-on nekid. Might have to start my own blog just to answer this post.

      Love your blog, btw Ori – been a ninja reader for awhile :).

      • Oriniwen said,

        October 31, 2009 at 7:42 pm

        Oh true enough. I don’t think I’ve used “heal” and “lesser heal” in a bajillion years. I loves me some trees, tho.

        And I’m always gratified to see people I know and love enjoying this blog. I really do think that Imposs’ stories are worth telling 🙂 ❤ you all!

        Lemme know if you do start your own and I'll add it to mah Imposs blog roll.

    2. October 30, 2009 at 11:35 am

      […] most excellent Miss Medicina’s non-meme questionnaire. Which I also read about on Tamarind, Oriniwen, and Kyrilean’s blogs. Since I’ve been a healer for such a short time, nobody’s […]

    3. November 1, 2009 at 10:56 pm

      […] the most excellent Miss Medicina’s non-meme questionnaire. Which I also read about on Tamarind, Oriniwen, and Kyrilean’s blogs. Since I’ve been a healer for such a short time, nobody’s likely to tag […]

    4. November 13, 2009 at 12:33 pm

      […] leader, who also plays a healer occasionally, put up a reply to an interesting chain post on her blog, doing a survey of WoW healers.  Guess what – I’m a WoW Healer!  Woot, […]


    Leave a comment